Mission: Impossible Rogue Nation and Wet Hot American Summer

Hey!

So I saw the new Mission: Impossible Rogue Nation movie and randomly watched Wet Hot American Summer (because Netflix just released a short TV series based off the movie with most of the original cast members). The show is called Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp and it is only 8 short episodes. It got pretty good reviews so I plan to watch it soon! I knew the movie wasn’t great going into it so that didn’t bug me. If you want to watch something that is stupid funny then here it is. Mission Impossible movies never disappoint. I am not the biggest fan of them, although I have seen them since they always have good reviews. I don’t like them mainly because I don’t like Tom Cruise as a person haha

wet hot american summer

I knew going in to watch Wet Hot American Summer that it wouldn’t be great. Rotten Tomatoes gave them 32% with the show getting 91%. BTW I use Rotten Tomatoes a lot when it comes to seeing a movie or not. There are certain movies I will see regardless of getting bad reviews, movies made from books I like or movies with actors I love. If it doesn’t get good reviews and it falls in either of those categories then I will wait and see it on Netflix or Redbox. Anyway this movie had a ton of great comedians/actors such as Amy Poehler, Janeane Garofalo, David Hyde Pierce, Michael Ian Black, Molly Shannon, Paul Rudd, Bradley Cooper, etc. which doesn’t always work. Examples include Valentine’s Day and New Year’s Eve (rom coms). Even a star-studded cast cannot save a horrible movie.

Slight Spoilers:

Now even though the movie wasn’t great there were still some funny parts. My fave scene was this random short one where Paul Rudd’s character throws a fit because he had to clean up a plate he threw. It was super short but I couldn’t stop laughing. Also Amy Poehler and Bradley Cooper were hilarious as the producers/choreographers of the talent show. So I don’t recommend this movie unless you want to watch something really silly and kind of dumb haha or only if you plan to watch the TV show! I mean there is a talking can of mixed vegetables…need I say more?

mission_impossible_rogue_nation-wide
This was actually Tom Cruise and not a stunt man!

So obviously the people behind the Mission: Impossible movies are doing something right. They’ve had 5 successful movies (I’ve read that people think the 2nd one is the worst). I’ve seen them all but not recently so I can’t make that call. Although I did like Ghost Protocol better than Rogue NationBUT they both were really good! You can always count on action and suspense plus some ridiculous stunts that you find out later Tom Cruise actually did. So if you like action movies then the Mission: Impossible movies are right up your alley.

Spoilers:

Questions I had during Mission: Impossible. How old is Tom Cruise now? Does he do all of his stunts? Is he really Suri’s father? Who is this main woman actress? Like what has she been in? Is she evil or good? Why is this villain’s (Lane) voice so annoying? Why is everyone in this theater getting up a million times? Are their bladders the size of peanuts? Can someone really hold their breath for 3 minutes? What is the world record? How many more movies are they going to make? How long is this movie?

My only complaint with this movie is that I felt like it was a little long. Turns out it was just 2 hrs. and 11 minutes, but my ideal movie time is 1 hr. and 45 min. If you are one of those people who thinks a good movie needs to be longer here are some examples of when that is false: Marty, shortest Best Picture winner (1955, 1 hr. 31 min. which I have actually seen and was one of my dad’s favorite movies), Driving Miss Daisy (1989, also fantastic at 1 hr. 39 min.), It Happened One Night (1934, 1 hr. 45 min. which some say is one of the first rom coms and also one of my favorite movies), and The Artist (2011, 1 hr. 40 min. I wanted to include a recent one haha).

Basically Ethan Hunt, Tom Cruise, goes rogue to try to take down the Syndicate which is this international bad people organization. He must team up with a mysterious woman named Isla who you aren’t sure is bad or good the whole movie. She’s good! 🙂 His team joins him again and are involved in some crazy suspenseful scenes. From hanging onto the side of an airplane or holding his breath for 3 minutes, Ethan Hunt can do anything. And in case you were wondering, Tom Cruise is 53. Damnnnnnnnn haha he ages well! I def recommend this one! Have a great week!

“McKinley, there are some lower campers stuck in the ropes course. I meant to tell you about that yesterday, but could you get to it now?” ~ Beth from Wet Hot American Summer

Leave a comment